Congratulations, Senator-elect Hassan!

Thursday, November 10th, 2016
Hassan high-res.jpg
Hassan high-res.jpg

GQRR congratulates New Hampshire Governor and Senator-elect Maggie Hassan on her victory over incumbent Republican Senator Kelly Ayotte in Tuesday’s elections, one of two Democratic pickups in the U.S. Senate.  Maggie Hassan is an extraordinary public official and leader who embodies the very best qualities of the people in New Hampshire and the nation as a whole. She will be a great Senator.   We congratulate campaign manager Marc Goldberg and chief of staff Pam Walsh for an outstanding campaign that was disciplined but also nimble. 

Maggie  defeated Ayotte in one of the nation’s most high profile Senate contestsby 1,019 votes out of nearly 740,000 votes cast by highlighting her record of standing up for the interests of New Hampshire as Governor, including leading the way to expand the state’s innovation economy,  maintaining fiscal responsibility, and expanding opportunity for all Granite Staters.   Maggie framed the election as a very clear choice between someone who sides with corporate special interests in Washington or someone who will side with the people of New Hampshire.

Hassan now joins New Hampshire’s Senior Senator Jeanne Shaheen as the only two women in American history to be elected both governor and senator.  She will also serve as part of New Hampshire’s first all-female Democratic congressional delegation.

GQRR is proud to have been part of the Hassan team since 2012, providing qualitative and quantitative research and strategic advice for Hassan’s election and re-election as governor, and for her campaign for U.S. Senate. Led by president Al Quinlan, GQRR’s Hassan team includes vice president Missy Egelsky and senior associate Ben Winston, assisted by Lester Polchlopek, Clinton Willbanks, and Trevor Hazen.  

GQRR also applauds the work of our colleagues on Hassan’s team, including David Dixon and Rich Davis of Dixon Davis Media Group and Ed Peavy and Jonathan Levy of Mission Control, as well as the campaign’s national finance director Emily Mellencamp Smith, digital director Jane Hughes, research director Josh Loewenstein, and communications director Aaron Jacobs.